Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

KDE desktop environment not loading after login

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Johan1830

KDE desktop environment not loading after login

#1 Post by Johan1830 »

Hi there,
Relative beginner here. Here's the basic information for my setup. I'm sure thatthere is more I should/could be providing but I'm not sure what's most useful. I'm using KDE as the desktop environment.
--------------
Host: Vostro 7500
Kernel: 6.1.0-18-amd64
CPU: Intel i7-10750H (12) @ 5.000GHz
GPU: Intel CometLake-H GT2 [UHD Graphics]
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 Ti Mobile
---------------

I've probably missed something obvious but the issue I'm facing arose overnight between March 28-29. The login screen loads just fine after booting up the system. So SDDM appears to be working. After login to a Wayland session though, it just reverts back to the login screen. After login into an X11 session, the KDE splash screen will load, the gear will turn for a minute, and then freeze. The DE never actually loads. If I use `startx` from the terminal to attempt it, the same thing happens, but I will eventually get a black screen with a working cursor. Nothing else. As it happens, I can remote into it with chrome remote desktop and get the gui just fine.
At first I thought it was just the nvidia drivers, and sure enough, a search found that everything *nvidia* had been completely removed overnight. It took HOURS of digging and trying things out, but I was finally able to get the drivers installed. Unfortunately the GUI still doesn't load. Any suggestions?

FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: KDE desktop environment not loading after login