Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!
Message
Author
sej7278
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#81 Post by sej7278 »

milomak wrote:the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)
me too (on wheezy), 11.1.102.55 crashes all the time, doesn't even have to be fullscreen.

moving it from /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/ to /usr/lib/iceweazel/plugins/ makes no difference at all.

chrome17 is even worse than firefox8 - it crashes instantly, at least firefox seems to start playing.

Code: Select all

[ 9677.503061] plugin-containe[20502] general protection ip:7ff7822c4191 sp:7fffc332bde8 error:0 in libc-2.13.so[7ff782252000+17a000]
[ 9847.886568] chrome[20929] general protection ip:7f15ffcb6191 sp:7fff7112e188 error:0 in libc-2.13.so[7f15ffc44000+17a000]

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#82 Post by phenest »

sej7278 wrote:
milomak wrote:the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)
me too (on wheezy), 11.1.102.55 crashes all the time, doesn't even have to be fullscreen.
Sid is unstable so it may crash. I'm using 11.1.102.55 on Wheezy and it's fine here.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

sej7278
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#83 Post by sej7278 »

phenest wrote:
sej7278 wrote:
milomak wrote:the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)
me too (on wheezy), 11.1.102.55 crashes all the time, doesn't even have to be fullscreen.
Sid is unstable so it may crash. I'm using 11.1.102.55 on Wheezy and it's fine here.
i fixed flash11 in wheezy by removing all the debian nvidia packages (including experimental) and just used nvidia's 290.06 installer. its not packaged and probably leaves cruft everywhere, but it works, and i don't have to wait months until the useless 280/275 driver gets updated in wheezy.

RJARRRPCGP
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-07-19 14:50
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#84 Post by RJARRRPCGP »

The broken repo driver sounds like when I was using SliTaz.

With SliTaz, I was required to use the drivers directly from Nvidia, because the ones SliTaz packaged results in X.Org refusing to use anything other than the dreaded "software rasterizer" mode!

ant
Posts: 330
Joined: 2011-11-09 00:15

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#85 Post by ant »

I might be out of the loop here in this very long forum thread, and just started using the latest Adobe's 64-bit Flash plugin with Iceweasel v3.6.24 (deb http://mozilla.debian.net/ squeeze-backports iceweasel-3.6" for apt-get) on my new 64-bit Debian stable installation. I am also using Debian's stable NVIDIA package for X.org.

I noticed every time I exit Iceweasel after using Flash, it crashes. Is this already known issue? Thank you in advance. :)

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#86 Post by phenest »

ant wrote:...using the latest Adobe's 64-bit Flash plugin with Iceweasel v3.6.24...Is this already known issue?
What version of Flash? Impossible to answer otherwise. I'm using 11.2.202.228 with Chromium in Squeeze with no issues.

I just noticed they've released 11.2.202.233
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

User avatar
caduceus
Posts: 46
Joined: 2012-08-03 22:38

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#87 Post by caduceus »

Many people do not know that one needs to type into a search engine the words " adobe flash preferences " and look for the official adobe pages and then to see what adobe flash has for the unsuspecting individual.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#88 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Flash is now officially EOL so Adobe strongly advise that the plugin be removed:

https://www.adobe.com/uk/products/flash ... -life.html

I'm removing the "sticky" status from this thread as it is no longer relevant.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12430
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#89 Post by stevepusser »

I gather the last release includes a kill switch that Adobe will soon enable, too, just to make sure.
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
Bloom
Posts: 379
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#90 Post by Bloom »

I have a friend that only uses her computer to play FarmVille, a flash game on facebook. The maker shows no intent to release their game for HTML5 video and still uses flash for the whole game.
So what is she supposed to do?

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#91 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Bloom wrote:So what is she supposed to do?
Find a different game: https://zyngasupport.helpshift.com/a/fa ... ement&l=en

Mrs. HoaS is in the same boat, several of her favourite FB games have also been killed off.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12430
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#92 Post by stevepusser »

Zynga is killing the original Farmville Flash desktop version. They have sequels for mobile devices already, which never supported Flash. My guess is that they don't get as much filthy lucre datamining the desktop accounts, so don't care.

https://games.avclub.com/farewell-farmv ... 1845204284

"Yep, she's gonna lose the farm."
MX Linux packager and developer

Post Reply