Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED] No sound through HDMI

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
solitone
Posts: 24
Joined: 2015-12-13 08:17

[SOLVED] No sound through HDMI

#1 Post by solitone »

I'm on Jessie, and use KDE.

--EDIT--
Sound keeps coming from laptop's speakers, even when HDMI is connected to an external TV.
--END EDIT--

I've tried to fix this issue using both Pulse Audio Volume Control and KDE's System Settings -> Multimedia -> Audio and Video Settings. No luck. I've read several topics around, but there are plenty of variables to consider. So, where do you think I should start to address this problem?
Last edited by solitone on 2015-12-20 05:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
solitone
Posts: 24
Joined: 2015-12-13 08:17

Re: No sound through HDMI

#2 Post by solitone »

Nobody has some piece of advice to give me? This is what I have:

Code: Select all

~$ cat /proc/asound/version 
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version k3.16.0-4-amd64.
~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
                      HDA Intel HDMI at 0xb5610000 irq 62
 1 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xb5614000 irq 60
~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3227 Analog [ALC3227 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
I've tried:

Code: Select all

speaker-test -c 2 -D hw:0,x
with x = 3, 7, or 8, but I have no sound. :?

I'm not using plain ALSA, but Pulseaudio, 'cause I have pulseaudio package installed. Right?

User avatar
solitone
Posts: 24
Joined: 2015-12-13 08:17

Re: No sound through HDMI

#3 Post by solitone »

I've noticed this error message:

Code: Select all

$ aplay -D plughw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3 ./ARPEGIO.WAV 
aplay: main:722: audio open error: Device or resource busy
Any clues? Maybe related to my no sound issue? This is the output of aplay -L:

Code: Select all

$ aplay -L
[...]
hw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=7
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 1
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=8
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 2
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=7
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 1
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=8
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 2
    Hardware device with all software conversions
[...]

User avatar
solitone
Posts: 24
Joined: 2015-12-13 08:17

Re: No sound through HDMI

#4 Post by solitone »

WTF, it was intel_iommu!

Setting the kernel boot line option

Code: Select all

intel_iommu=igfx_off
fixed the issue, and finally I've got HDMI sound, alleluja! Now I have to understand what are the impacts of this change on the rest of the system.

-- EDIT --
Aaarrrgh, now I can't reproduce the problem anymore!! Even when I boot without that kernel parameter, sound through HDMI still works. Can't undestand what's going on. Previously, when trying:

Code: Select all

$ aplay -D plughw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3 ./ARPEGIO.WAV 
I got the error I reported:

Code: Select all

aplay: main:722: audio open error: Device or resource busy
Now I don't get that error anymore, and sound is sent to my TV via HDMI. :roll:

User avatar
solitone
Posts: 24
Joined: 2015-12-13 08:17

Re: [SOLVED] No sound through HDMI

#5 Post by solitone »

I didn't update anything. Just did that reboot with that intel_iommu parameter. Since then HDMI started working, irrespective of how I boot (either with that parameter or without it)

User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6475
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 474 times

Re: [SOLVED] No sound through HDMI

#6 Post by sunrat »

Sometimes you just have to thank $(deity) for blessings like this. I recently changed a theme config option trying to solve a minor issue but it failed to fix it on reboot. 3 boots later it suddenly took effect and worked perfectly! :shock: :D
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

Post Reply